2nd ASM Conference on Dimorphic Fungal Pathogens

March 22 - 26, 2010 | Miami, Florida  

This conference was held concurrently with the 10th ASM Conference on Candida and Candidiasis  

Conference Scope

In recent years, major technical advances have revolutionized the molecular analysis of the systemic dimorphic fungi.  These pathogens are ubiquitous soil fungi that infect healthy and immunocompromised individuals who live in endemic areas.  These fungi collectively comprise a significant threat to human health. With the advent of mutagenesis technology, genome sequence, whole genome expression profiling, proteomics, and other advances, the ability to probe the biology of these fascinating organisms has reached a new level of molecular sophistication.  This meeting will cover numerous topics including morphogenesis, pathogenesis, molecular cell biology, host response, genomics, proteomics, and fungal evolution. Of special note is the “Sequence workshop/community tool-building session”, where where the community and a panel of experts will brainstorm about database tools for the dimorphic fungal pathogens. 

Session Topics:

Regulation of Morphogenesis
Pathogenesis and Virulence Strategies
Host response to Infection
Molecular Cell Biology of Dimorphic Fungi
Clinical Diagnosis and Treatment
Functional Genomics and Proteomics
Sequence Workshop/Community Tool-Building
Fungal Evolution and Selection 

Program Committee:

Anita Sil; University of California, San Francisco, California (USA)
Juan McEwen; Cellular and Immunogenetics Group, Corporación para Investigaciones, Biológicas (Colombia)
Chad A. Rappleye; Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio (USA) 

Program Advisory Committee:

William E. Goldman; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC (USA)
Bruce S. Klein; University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin (USA)
Josh Nosanchuk; Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York (USA)
Alex Andrianopolous; University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria (Australia)
John Taylor; University of California, Berkeley, CA (USA) 

Finance Committee:

Josh Nosanchuk; Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York (USA)
Joseph Wheat; MiraVista Diagnostics, Indianapolis, Indiana (USA)
Carol A. Kauffman; University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan (USA) 

Program/Abstract Book