Program Committee

William R. Jacobs, Jr., Co-organizer; Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, NY

William Jacobs is an HHMI investigator, Member of the National Academy of Sciences, and Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and Genetics at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Dr. Jacobs is also one of two leading HHMI investigators engaged in the KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV, a partnership aimed at controlling the dual epidemic of HIV/TB.  The Jacobs’ lab has focused its efforts on developing systems to genetically manipulate mycobacteria, particularly M. tuberculosis, aimed at identifying genes involved in the virulence, identifying novel drug targets, generating phage diagnostics for drug resistant strains and engineering attenuated mutants of M. tuberculosis and other mycobacteria that can be used as live-cell tuberculosis vaccines.

K. Heran Darwin, Co-organizer
; New York University School of Medicine, New York, NY

Heran Darwin is a Professor of Microbiology at New York University School of Medicine.  Her fundamental research focuses on understanding how Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Mtb) is able to avoid eradication by robust mammalian immunity.  Professor Darwin is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, and was awarded a Kavli Fellowship in 2012.  She was a Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigator in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Diseases.  In 2010, Dr. Darwin received the Irma T. Hirschl Award, and in 2006  was an ICAAC Young Investigator Award recipient.

Stewart Cole, Co-organizer
; EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Stewart Cole is director of EPFL’s Global Health Institute and is a Professor and Head of the Lab of Microbial Pathogenesis.   He is scientific coordinator for the New Medicines For Tuberculosis project.  Dr. Cole was awarded the 2014 Emil von Behring Prize from the University of Marburg, recognizing his “his outstanding work in the field of tuberculosis research”, which includes groundbreaking publications on the genomics of Mycobacterium tuberculosis and Mycobacterium leprae. He was also the recipient of The Marjory Stephenson Prize, which is the principal prize of the Society for General Microbiology, awarded for an outstanding contribution of current importance in microbiology.